Jobs for Afghans Home

Congressional Call and Email Campaign


This is a campaign to lobby congress members to sponsor or co-sponsor the legislation which will decrease the danger to our troops in Afghanistan, help stabilize the country, and allow us to get out.  The foreign policy staff member is key to directing the congressmember's attention to this legislation.  They have been chosen for their positions in committees, usually appropriations, which can make the Afghan Stabilization and Works Program legislation happen.  Most of these D.C. offices have been visited by us in person in recent weeks and the foreign policy staff member was presented with our proposal.   All of the staff members we spoke with were courteous, professional, and eager to do the right thing.  But sometimes it is hard to get heard above the din in Washington.  Your voices will insure we do.

You can do two things:

1) If you are short on time, just email the foreign policy staff members at the emails listed below to request a phone appointment with the congress member.   You can cut-and-paste the following to save time:

(Emails listed below)

"My name is (name, rank or former rank, service affiliation.)  I am writing to request a phone appointment with Rep./Senator______ in order to discuss and ask him to sponsor the Afghan Stabilization and Works Program designed by JobsforAfghans.org  As you know, and as Vice  President Joe Biden has said, most of the Taliban are only fighting because  there is 40% unemployment and the Taliban pays $10 a day to young men who would rather be doing anything else.  Our plan takes the ideologically uncommitted off the firing line, and allows Afghans to build their society, so we can save on the cost of war and rebuild our economy here at home. Please go to jobsforafghans.org and click the link "congressional packet" for our materials.  Looking forward to hearing from you."

2)  If you can make a personal call to the office to request a phone appointment with the member, you can use the following suggested script: "Hello my name is____, I am a (soldier, veteran, unit) and I would like to speak to (foreign policy staff member named in chart below)." 

At this point you will probably be transferred to the person or get his/her voice-mail.

"Hello, my name is_______(name, rank, unit, present or former), and I'm calling to ask for a phone appointment with Congressman/woman_______ to discuss legislation which will decrease danger to the troops and stabilize Afghanistan.  You have received these materials from the organization Jobs for Afghans and hopefully have briefed your congressmember.  Can you tell me what you think of our proposal and give me a convenient time for a phone appointment? (If it's a voice-mail leave your number for a return call to schedule.  If staff member requests more information you can continue as follows)

"Well as you know  about 70%-90% of the Taliban, according to Vice  President Joe Biden, are only fighting because  there is 40% unemployment, literal starvation, and the Taliban pays $10 a day to young men who would rather be doing anything else.  Our plan takes the ideologically uncommitted off the firing line, and allows Afghans to build their society, so we can save on the cost of war and rebuild our economy here at home.  Can I send you the link where you will find our materials?  (verify their email address listed in chart.  Refer them to JOBSFORAFGHANS.ORG )

"Thank you and looking forward to speaking to your congress member."

When speaking to member:  "Representative_______, my name is (name, rank, unit) and I am calling to ask you to sponsor legislation which will reduce the danger to troops in the field in Afghanistan, through work projects for the unemployed young men who, as you know and as Vice President Joe Biden has said, join the Taliban only because it pays $8 to $10 a day.  Can you give me your thoughts on the proposal by Jobs for Afghans which has been presented to you by your staff?  (sound him or her out, note and relay concerns on the legislation that you can't address to us via email at jobsforafghans@gmail.com and/or call us at 617-599-5195 (ask for Sue) to pull us in to respond to questions.  We will initiate a discussion with this member.)

Review before speaking to congressmember:
Fact sheet Draft legislation

 
Member
Foreign Policy Staff Member
Phone
Fax
Foreign Policy Staff Member Email
Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY) Ann Vaughan 202-225-6506
 202-225-0546
Sen. Richard Durbin (D-OH) Drew Simon 202-224-2152 202-224-2152 drew_simon@durbin.senate.gov
Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL) David Gillies 202-225-5661 202-225-0285 david.gillies@mail.house.gov
Sen. Daniel Inouye (D-HI) Mary Yoshioko
    202-224-3934
202-224-6742

Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

202-224-3553

Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN) Nathaniel Milazzo 202-225-3021 202-225-3382 nathaniel.milazzo@mail.house.gov
Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY) Michael Ryan 202-225-3335 202-225-4669 mike.ryan@mail.house.gov
Sen. John Kerry (D-MA) Fatima Sumar (202) 224-2742 202-224-8525
Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) Jake Sciandra 202-224-5344
  jacob_sciandra@snowe.senate.gov
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)   Andy Friedman  
202-224-3224 202-228-4054
Sen. Al Franken (D-MN) Derrick Nayo 202-224-5641 202-224-0044 derrick_nayo@franken.senate.gov
Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL) Charles Dujon 202-225-0773 202-225-0899 charles.dujon@mail.house.gov
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)  Scott Exner 202-225-2661 202-225-9817 scott.exner@@mail.house.gov
Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH) Amy Vossbrinck 202-225-5871 202-225-5745
Rep. Ben Chandler (D-KY) Jennifer Prather 202-225-4706 202-225-2122 jennifer.prather@mail.house.gov
Rep. Adam Schiff ((D-CA) Timothy Bergreen 202-225-4176 202-225-5828 timothy.bergreen@mail.house.gov
Rep. David Obey (D-WI) Anne Georges 202-225-3365
      anne.georges@mail.house.gov
Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA) Ross Nodurft 202-224-5824 202-224-9735   ross_nordurft@landrieu.senate.gov

Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)
Brian Chelcun 202-224-5323 202-224-2725 brian_chelcun@feingold.senate.gov

Rep. Mike Capuano (D-MA)
Christina Tsafoulias 202-225-5111 202-225-9322 christina.tsafoulias@mail.house.gov

Sen. Jim Webb (D-VA)
Marta McLellan Ross 202-228-5243
marta_mclellanross@webb.senate.gov

Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN)
Peter Frosch 202-225-6631 202-225-1968 peter.frosch@mail.house.gov
Rep. Walt Minnick (D-ID) Adam Elias 202-225-6611 202-225-3029 adam.elias@mail.house.gov

Rep. Steven Rothman (D-NJ)
Jonathan Moore 202-225-5061
  jonathan.moore@mail.house.gov

Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Tim Riser   202-224-4242 202-224-3479